Final Crisis: Legion of 3 Worlds

Image result

This comic, like so many others, has convinced me that Geoff Johns is a robot. Is there a single comic from this time period that he wasn’t writing??  How is it humanly possible for one man to write this many stories? It’s not, I’m telling you. Therefore, he must be a robot, and you can’t convince me otherwise.

Legion of 3 Worlds was a bit of a mixed bag for me.  I’ve never been too emotionally invested in the Legion, so the first half of the comic didn’t really resonate with me.  I understand the significance of the story, but there were just a lot of Legion members that I honestly didn’t really know much about. If I can’t connect to individual characters on a personal level, my interest in their story tends to drop.  So to be fair, this could easily be a fantastically written story (and from what I can judge, it was pretty decent), but the first half just didn’t do a lot for me.  Superboy-Prime has returned yet again, throwing a temper tantrum all over the 31st century, trying to erase any and all memory of Superman/The Legion.

The second half of the story was an altogether different animal.  Superman is called forth to aid the Legion, who is losing dramatically the Superboy-Prime and the Legion of Super-Villains.  Superman’s fought this battle before, and knows that Superboy will just continue trying to destroy everything. Killing isn’t an option, and defeating him doesn’t seem to stick. Superman decides they need to try a new tactic:

 photo 20161023_160015_zpsqgqmsp7q.jpg

While I admire Superman’s faith that this whack-job can be saved, I had a feeling that plan was doomed to fail.  Superman does his best to appeal to Superboy’s humanity, asking him what his parents would think of the man he’s become. It doesn’t even make a dent in Superboy’s resolve, leaving the team to figure out a new course of action.

Luckily, it turns out there were a few contingency plans in place, some begun a millennia ago.  For one, we finally learn the purpose of Starman being sent back in time.

 photo 20161023_160108_zpsngss8ybr.jpg

Starman is seen digging up the body of Conner Kent, at the same time that Legion members travel back in time to retrieve a strand of Lex Luthor’s hair.  Hmmm…what’s this all about now?

(Unrelated side note: Can we get a spinoff comic for Starman where we just follow him around as he narrates his daily life? He’s awesome and hilarious and I want to see more of him, please and thank you).

It turns out Starman held a pretty crucial role. He dug up Conner’s body and placed it in the same resurrection chamber that regenerated Superman’s body, before burying said chamber under the Fortress of Solitude.  Conner’s regeneration process would take much longer (a thousand years, to be precise), meaning that he’s brought back to life right in the thick of the battle with Superboy-Prime.  The two engage in some good old-fashioned fisticuffs while exchanging insults.  Superboy-Prime is ultimately defeated, sent away to a newly formed Earth-Prime, where he is forced to read about his failures in comics.

 photo 20161023_155929_zpskzcftial.jpg

I love when comics break the fourth wall,  and the fact that Superboy knows his life is nothing more than a story in this world makes for a rather fitting punishment.  I’m sure he’ll figure out a way to come back eventually, but for now he’s been relegated to his own world, the world he’s always wanted that now seems to not be enough.

On the brighter side, this comic gave us not one, but two dramatic returns.  Superman returns to the present with two heroes in tow, ready to present them to the awaiting Teen Titans.

 photo 20161023_160034_zpsjdw0meuz.jpg

Conner and Bart are back! Bart’s young again! Everyone’s happy now, yay!!! I hated their deaths, so the fact that they’ve both been brought back to life makes me pretty darn happy.  There isn’t much in the way of repercussions in this comic, but I’m sure their return is covered in comics elsewhere.  I don’t know what they were drinking over at DC at this time, but I’m glad they stuck with it. Conner, Bart, AND Barry Allen all back from the dead?  That’s an awful lot of excitement in such a short amount of time. I just hope this isn’t all a way to butter the reader up before a handful of different characters die. I’m not going to think about that though. I’m just going to focus on the fact that these heroes are back and yay everyone can enjoy that!  I’ll deal with the negative side-effects if and when they pop up, but for now it’s nice to have a happy ending.

-Jess

Leave a Reply

