A Change of Pace

Having written this blog for well over a year, it’s been a pretty massive part of my life. In that time, I’ve read over 300 DC trades, and written a post about each and every one.  Recently I’ve begun to hit a wall, feeling as though this blog is becoming a full-time job. Seeing as how I already have one of those, I’ve decided that it’s time to take a step back.

I’m still going to use my DC Continuity page to keep track of each trade I read, but I’m going to stop writing about each and every one. Given the pace at which I want to read, it’s just no longer feasible to write a 1,000+ word post about each trade.  I love writing, but it was just starting to be a little too much work.  I’d rather read all the time and just write more sporadically. I don’t always have something fascinating to say about a trade, so this way I can just write when I feel like I have something worth while to contribute.

I’m still a bit undecided as to how frequently I may return to posting. The once-a-day thing is behind me; I just can’t keep up with that anymore. I’m not sure exactly where I’ll go from here. What I do know is that this should be a hobby, not a job, and I plan on approaching it as such from now on.

One thing I’m certain of is that I’ll definitely still be reading comics, and will continue to read the many posts published by those with far more comics knowledge than me.  Your posts are always very much appreciated, as are your comments on my own posts.

My journey through “the shelf” is continuing; I’m loving that and really want to see it through to the end. Rather than document every moment on here though, I’m going to sit back for a bit and just enjoy the journey.

-Jess

2 thoughts on “A Change of Pace

  1. Well said…

    Bummer to be knowing we’ll be missing out on your daily output (or having several posts to catch up on when I’ve missed a few days), but as you say–reading, blogging–if you’re not making a living off it, or monetizing it such that it’s any significant/notable income–it’s a hobby.

    As one who hs seen so many blogs just…stop, it’s good to know THAT you’re taking a break/allowing your “format” to evolve, and I for one do hope you continue to write–about comics, about Disney films, about your thoughts on whatever.

    Speaking as some random reader and fellow blogger (not some “expert” or with any eye toward ads/monetizing/etc), you’ve got one heckuva body of work for the year-plus you’ve been writing, which is an excellent foundation. And while you may have started with one narrow premise (read and write about each book as you go through “The Shelf”), there is no rule saying you’re not allowed to reinvent yourself (and this blog) to adjust the premise, or set a whole new premise for yourself.

    I wish you a great rest of the week and holiday, and look forward to what/when you post next!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

