Big Hero 6 (2014)

Image result for big hero 6

It’s really great to see that Disney has once again hit its stride, and has been turning out a number of truly entertaining films in recent years.  The latest on my list is Big Hero 6, a contemporary story about a young boy named Hiro and a healthcare robot named Baymax.  Since this movie is only a few short years old I won’t give much away, but suffice it to say that this film features Hiro and Baymax teaming up with a handful of smart and industrious college engineering students to take on a bad guy.

That description sucks, I know. It’s just impossible to describe it more without giving away key plot points that are better revealed while watching the film.  What I can tell you is that this movie is creative, and has a slightly different feel than some other Disney films. For once though, I don’t mean that in a bad way.  Parts of it remind me of Meet the Robinsons, specifically the heavy emphasis on science and science-based careers.  Disney’s bread and butter is magic, but I really like that they ‘ve crafted a fun movie centered around science.  Had this film come out when I was a child, I might have been more inclined to study engineering or another science-related field.  It’s great to see a kid’s movie that doesn’t fall on magic as its sole source of entertainment, and shows that other, more tangible forms of “magic” can be equally as interesting.

While the film is grounded in science, it doesn’t sacrifice heart.  There are plenty of emotional scenes peppered throughout the film (some are even too emotional, if you ask me).  I appreciate the fact that Disney figured out how to balance these characteristics, helping create a movie that is logical and heartfelt all at the same time.  Hiro and Baymax have a great relationship, and yes, Baymax fills in as the amusing animal-like sidekick that has been popularized by Disney over the years.  He’s cute, innocent, and endearing, and there’s no doubt in my mind that you’ll like him after watching the film.

This post is a little sad and lackluster, since I can’t discuss much without giving away key moments of the story, and I don’t want to spoil anything.  Suffice it to say that it’s well worth a watch, and will certain take your emotions on a roller coaster ride.  Is that a good thing? I’ll leave it up to you to decide.

-Jess

One thought on “Big Hero 6 (2014)

Leave a Reply

